top of page
Search
  • Elizabeth Boeckman

Graduating from Home during the Crisis

I feel like I am in high school again. The COVID-19 pandemic was able to dramatically change my life in only a few days as I went from living independently in my apartment back to my parents’ house in Nederland, Texas. Since I am now a senior at the University of Texas and have lived away from home for a while now, it definitely feels weird being back home and sharing my childhood bedroom and in fact my bed with my older sister. Even though figuring out each other’s sleep schedule is challenging in itself, the most difficult part of living together has been when we are all awake as I am used to having my own space to do work. When I need space at home, I go to our back porch and place a note on the door saying “I’m in class right now! Text me if you need me” so that no one goes outside and I am able to therefore get some space. No matter your age, sibling rivalries are inevitable and being at home has caused arguments like who gets to use the TV, making me feel like I am 18 years old again and have never left home. Amid fights with my siblings and feeling cramped at home, I think to myself that this will all be over soon and I will be able to continue life for myself outside of my childhood home. However, I know that there are more pressing issues amidst the coronavirus pandemic as people are risking their lives every single day to work on the frontlines and save others therefore I will do my part in staying home, even if that does mean living in my childhood bedroom.



6 views0 comments
bottom of page