top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAddison Smith

An Essential Workers Crisis

My name is JaVita Brown and I am a bus driver servicing Detroit, Michigan. While my job is considered essential, business hasn't been as usual. Most of the days I am driving around myself or just a few others because of the stay at home order. But when I am driving others, I am terrified of the unknown. I don't know where they have been, who they've been around or what they've touched. However, as much as I am terrified, I try to be grateful. Unlike many other Americans, I have my job. I am at risk, but I am still receiving a paycheck; but it's been a difficult balance that I try to weigh out everyday. Is risking my health worth the money? My husband at home is immunocompromised, and I fear that everyday I could be infecting him. But I have to put food on the table somehow, right? It pains me so much to think about. Like I said, I am grateful I have a paycheck and that the company I work for is doing alright to keep me safe. They allow me gloves and mask, and are working on reducing my working hours to allow me more time at home without a reduction in pay. Some of my friends work at grocery stores or factories, and they aren't provided or even allowed materials to keep them safe. I struggle to understand how it is possible for companies to treat their workers so poorly, but it's just the world we live in today. Everythings always about the money, so I get why so many workers are striking. I keep quiet though because I am receiving my paycheck and am doing my best to keep my family as safe as I can and don't want to compromise that. I never thought the whole world could change so much because of a disease, but here we are. 




5 views0 comments
bottom of page